IMC :: Do you Theme?

RPGnet: The Inside Scoop on Gaming
In order to incorporate themes into your RPGs, try dividing your ideas for themes into three categories: Meta-themes, arc-themes, and episode themes.

I’m not sure I do. I think it is a darn good idea, but I’d be hard pressed in this second to say what Theme I’m presenting in Eternal City. Furthermore, the Players and I have never talked about this, except at game start, where I promised an Amber game that would NOT be about betrayal, backstabbing, and psychopaths.
Except as I think about it, we certainly have had those things as big plot drivers… the game just isn’t about those things.
There is WISH 82 which might be kernel themes. I can only conclude that in wanting to present a good unfolding tale, I present those Themes that define my own bias and enjoyment in stories.
The list might be:

  • Good versus evil
  • Power magnifies your mistakes
  • Love
  • Moral ambivalence
  • Friendship is power, isolation is weakness
  • Presumption, Assumption, and Perspective
  • Destiny vs. free-choice
  • Corruption, Greed, and Complacency are Cowardly and Self-Destructive
  • High technology and High sorcery are Highly Dangerous
  • Pain Shared is Halved, Joy Shared is Doubled
  • Vengeance does not make the Pain go away
  • Every small Destruction is part of the Larger Destruction
  • Sex is the second best medicine
  • Laughter is the best medicine
  • Reality is an Onion
  • Heroism just might be the third best medicine
  • The needs of the many vs the needs of the few
  • With great power comes great accountability
  • Exploration
  • It takes a long time to Grow Up (when you are immortal)
3 comments

  1. OK. The ‘follow-up’ click on the main page always shows the trackback URL, even if there is no trackback as yet. I’ve added it to each individual archive page as well.

Comments are closed.